Comparison Game

I fall prey to the comparison trap quite often. I look to those around me or those in leadership that I respect and start to compare myself with them. This might seem like a good thing, right, a challenge set before you, inspiration to do better? Well there several problems with this.

Problem 1 – If you view yourself as better than those around you, you become arrogant and a spiritual bully.

Problem 2 – If you you view yourself less than those around you, and I don’t mean in a humble way, I mean in a beat yourself up because you’re a loser and everyone else is superman kind of way, you become defeated. I find myself on this side of the comparison trap most often.

Problem 3 – People aren’t perfect. We should strive to only become like Christ.

The root of this trap is really pride. Be confident in who Christ has made you to be. Set your attention and affection on Christ. Learn to be content. Comparison is contrary to contentment. And if you are comparing yourself with me stop it, believe me I’m human with lots of mistakes.

“But let each one test his own work, and then his reason to boast will be in himself alone and not in his neighbor.” Galatians 6:7

Are you playing?

Leave a Reply

